Crossing continued

My grandmother was one of the strongest women I have ever known. She had a long and sometimes troubled life but she was a fighter until the very end. She never let anything keep her down for long but I’m not even sure whether she even knew how much of triumphant spirit she really was.

She passed away on Monday, October 12th 2015. The following is the eulogy I wrote for her. I hope she would be proud and I am glad I was able to read it.

There are so many things to say about my nana, Ruth Lenore. I could tell you all about the fearless woman who took her three children and left an abusive man at a time where women just didn’t do that. I could tell you how she raised those three kids into caring, beautiful people with the help of her family and then on her own in the projects in Medford, MA. We could talk about how she cleaned houses to stay afloat, how she worked her way up to an office career at National Fire Protection Association where she made lifelong friends that never forgot her, years after she retired. I could tell you that she went to church every Sunday and raised her family from a place of faith and love, how she cared for them selflessly; sisters, brother, parents, nieces & nephews, children, grandchildren and great grandchildren.

We could talk about the way she taught us to do everything from the heart whether it be setting the altar, the dinner table or making meatballs, stuffed toufalies, or any other magical dish she attempted. I could talk to you about how she selflessly took in a daughter and her two young children when they were abandoned and spent the rest of her life being the most powerful force in their lives.

I could tell you all these things about my Nana and you still wouldn’t understand what she means to me. Words are not enough to express the power of her spirit, of her love for each of you that are here surrounding her now.

Jesus said, “I am the resurrection
and the life; he who believes in me,
though he die, yet shall he live,
and whoever lives and believes in me shall never die.”

I know that Nana didn’t want to leave us but I take comfort that she is with the Lord and I know she was met at the gates by my mother and uncle and all of those we have loved and lost who went before her. So, as Psalm 30 verse 5 says “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.”

Let us weep today for our loss but in her honor let the joy come to us in the morning.

Leave a Reply

