Victory

Every day I get out of bed
With PTSD, this is a victory!

I shower, I dress
I don’t look like the mess
I am inside.
With PTSD, this is a victory!

I go to school, I go to work.
I do it well and without being a jerk.
With PTSD, this is a victory!

I go to public places
Sit on a bench without
Looking for faces
Wanting to hurt me.
With PTSD, this is a victory!

Sometimes
there is a trigger
Sometimes
my problems are bigger
Yet I know what to do
I assure you
I’ll push through.
With PTSD, this is a victory!

Don’t easily let people in
Don’t always push them away
Sometimes I even let them stay.
To me, with PTSD, this is a victory!

Leave a Reply

